Benefit Tribunal — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Benefit Tribunal

Options
Nuala Watt
Nuala Watt Community member Posts: 30 Listener
Dear All

I'm 28, have spastic diplegia and am registered partially sighted. I also have dyspraxia. I have been on DLA (high mobility and medium care) since I was 16. Last year I applied for ESA on the advice of a Welfare Rights Officer (I am a PhD student and so didn't think I would be eligible, but she disagreed. I went to an ATOS WCA and was awarded 0 medical points. I am appealing this decision as several statements in the medical report are untrue - i.e, it says my sight doesn't make it dfficult for me to get around (Social Work have just awarded me help with orientation because the opposite is true) and that I don't have difficulty recognising and getting away from danger (I understand that fire is dangerous, but this doesn't mean I can get away from it. The DWP's appeal papers have arrived and the medical report says 'the client has no significant functional impairments'. This doesn't make sense to me. I have multiple impairments, and I always will. I'm gathering medical reports - I got one from my OT which said 'Nuala has functional use of her left upper limb only' among other things, and I printed it out and showed it to my father because I was pleased and relieved. This situation feels mad - I shouldn't be happy about letters stating what I can't do. I very much hope that when I complete my PhD I will be able to get a job, although the number of jobs I can succesfully do is limited because of my multiple impair