If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Guest post: How to encourage healthy eating habits in your child

_SpecialEd4mums_SpecialEd4mums Posts: 2Member Listener
edited August 2016 in Guest blogs

I'm a cookery teacher and activity coordinator for disabled children and their families. I have a son on the autistic spectrum, a daughter with Down’s syndrome and young twins, and I'm written a new cookery book for disabled children.

The digital age and its insatiable thirst for immediacy, has created the ultimate rivalry between the concept of eating well and convenience. Although the convenience of fast food and pre-packaged meals saves time and energy, its existence undermines the enjoyment of food preparation and the value of quality family time.

Limited time in the kitchen has a direct effect on our children’s development, both mentally and physically. According to a 2012 research study at the University of Alberta in Canada; “Kids who cook are hungrier for healthy food choices... in turn promoting healthy bone and muscle development, learning and self-esteem”.

The idea of "healthy eating" for many busy working parents can cause a great deal of stress. It's even harder for parents of disabled children or young adults. Our time is often even more limited as our children struggle to learn how to communicate and understand the world around them, how to interact with their peers or manage their overpowering sensory issues.

Deborah French teaching cookery to two children

To compound these challenges further, disabled children are often bullied, ridiculed or ignored and left to feel misunderstood and frustrated - which can lead to comfort eating or fussy eating. This turns mealtimes and food consumption into a constant emotional battle between children and their parents, paving the way for additional problems such as childhood obesity and disease.