If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Having difficulties logging in or resetting your password?

Please email [email protected]

Talk about why communication matters

AAC_TomAAC_Tom Posts: 3Member Listener
edited October 2015 in Guest Q&As
Hi, I’m Tom and I have been working as an Assistive Technologist at Great Ormond Street Hospital for the past eight years. My primary role is assessing children with communication difficulties, with the view to providing them with techniques, strategies and devices to improve their expressive communication. I’m also studying for a PhD involving the use of eye-tracking technology in the assessment of children with cerebral palsy. I will be on the community all this week, representing Communication Matters. I will try and answer any questions you may have about how voice output communication devices work, how they are assessed for and selected, and what current arrangements exist for funding and provision of these devices. Whilst my background is paediatric, I will try to answer questions related to all ages as best I can. Please bear with me if I am not able to respond straight away, as I will have to check this forum around my daily work commitments. Looking forward to speaking to you all! ask away!

Replies

• marionstantonmarionstanton Posts: 4Member Listener
    Hi,
    I'm Marion and I will be joining Tom in answering your AAC (Augmentative and Alternative Communication) questions. I am a qualified special needs teacher and AAC practitioner so I can answer questions about the use of AAC in mainstream and educational settings and also about low tech (sometimes referred to as paper based) as well as high tech solutions to support students in learning and communicating. I will be happy to answer questions about literacy development for AAC users which is one of my passions.
  • EllaBEllaB Posts: 35Member Listener