Seeking information about finding work in UK — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Seeking information about finding work in UK

Options
jahanley
jahanley Scope Member Posts: 9 Connected
Hi, my name is James and I am a 39 year old male who currently lives in Vancouver Canada. I have minimal Cerebral Palsy and would like to move to the UK next Spring I do have a UK passport.I have over ten years experience working in Hospitality and I also have a career counselling Certificate.I would like some information on to go about finding work in the UK 

Comments

• Debbie_Alumni
    Debbie_Alumni Community member Posts: 932 Pioneering
    Options
    Hi James,

There's lots of things you can do to find work in the UK but the first thing to consider is where in the UK you will be living. Once you have this in mind it's a good idea to find out more information about the town or city you're moving to. You can research various industries to see what is available in the area and what the job prospects are in the location you want to live in. You also need to factor in your living costs, will you be renting here or will you be buying a property? You'll need to know if the work you do will pay enough to cover your living costs. In the UK rents and property prices can be quite high in certain areas, particularly London and some of the larger cities.