Need advice on Education, Health & Care Plans — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Need advice on Education, Health & Care Plans

cetaylormade
cetaylormade Community member Posts: 2 Listener
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hello my name is Hannah and I'm an educational psychologist.

Comments

• cetaylormade
    cetaylormade Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hi Hannah,

I really hope you can help me!  I have four children, but have particular concerns about my middle two children.  

My son who is 9 is diagnosed with ASD and dyslexia.  He also has auditory processing difficulties and visual stress. He has chronic headaches that are caused by anxiety that he has most days (consultant has ruled out any other mechanical causes for headaches and he has had an MRi).  He is also incredibly bright (assessed as iq in top 1%).  His consultant (pediatrician who he has been seeing with regards to his headaches) feels he needs additional support at school to help manage his anxiety and dyslexia in particular, but school haven't got funds and have said he wont get an EHCP as he is working at or above levels.  Have you any advice/ do you agree that he is unlikely to get an EHCP?