Hi, my name is coliz! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hi, my name is coliz!

Options
coliz
coliz Community member Posts: 1 Listener
I have just got my letter inviting me to apply for PIP allowance, at the moment I have a mobility car, my husband drives me. I am 65, I was a teacher and had to give up work, after I had a stroke at 59 which weakened my right side, although I can walk a bit, I cannot use my hand to hold things. I have a tremor in my left hand and find day to day activities becoming harder. I have since been diagnosed with AF, cerebellar ataxia and arthritis of the spine which makes me more prone to falling, my speech is also affected. I try to do simple exercises which seem to help my balance. I don’t think I will qualify for a car under PIP, the descriptors seem very limited. I no longer see the same doctor,my assigned doctor doesn’t seem very approachable. I am due to see the spinal consultant next month for the MRI results. Will any of those findings be taken into account? I was awarded DLA indefinitely so I didn’t always keep DWP informed of my worsening health conditions, I always thought I would improve if I kept up the exercises. I also can’t physically fill in the pip form, my husband finds any paper work very stressful, in the past The Princess Royal Trust has helped me , but our local one has now closed, I live near Reading do you know any charities in this area that would help.

Comments

• Chris_Alumni
    Chris_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 689 Pioneering
    edited February 2017
    Options