Tackling the University Challenge — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Tackling the University Challenge

Options
TheInsanity1234
TheInsanity1234 Community member Posts: 1 Listener

Hello, my name is Aaron. I’m profoundly deaf and predominantly use British Sign Language (BSL). I can also talk and lipread. I’m a student at the University of Liverpool, studying Physics. I also have a wonderful hearing dog called Ellie. Hobbies include: spending far too much time on social media; lurking on car forums; walking Ellie; procrastinating important things; and eating food.  

I’ve been invited to write a blog post relevant to the theme of Universities. I completed my first year of university on the 2nd June, and I’m going to write a little bit about the challenges I faced as a profoundly deaf student, and how I overcame them to achieve an average mark of 69% for the year.

Deaf man, with glasses and long hair, with black dog 

But first, the biggest challenge of my nearly 20 years of life on this planet was writing my Personal Statement for UCAS to distribute with my university applications. Never have I drafted, and redrafted, one document so many times in my life. The process usually went like: 

1. Write a draft personal statement, 

2. Submit to my Careers Advisor to peruse, 

3. Get feedback from Careers Advisor, 

4. Redraft Personal statement, 

5. Repeat steps 2 to 4 about 10 times, 

6. Finally get approval and submit to UCAS, 

7. Make a cup of tea to celebrate!