Blue Badge Parking app for the iPhone or iPad — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Blue Badge Parking app for the iPhone or iPad

APH
APH Community member Posts: 0 Listener

Hello

I am a retired mechanical engineer who became Visually Impaired some while ago and enjoyed creating ‘things’ but found this increasingly difficult to achieve but liked using a computer. I therefore turned to that because with modern displays and a graphics tablet rather than a mouse its easier to use and see when magnified, so taught myself how to writing software and produced an app for my iPhone. As it seemed useful I continued to improve it and decide to release it in the App Store nearly 3 years ago and users seemed to like it. This was specifically for caravanners, which is our main form of relaxation and taking our Guide Dogs puppy with us to socialize and train. 

Encouraged by this I wrote another app to actual help Blind and Visually Impaired people like myself to tell them where there are when out and about, called very unimaginably ‘Where Am I with speech’. This doesn’t need Voice Over as the app reads the name of the street and if a property is nearby, the house number as well. There is no written help text, everything is spoken. To enable its use with one hand the screen can be tapped, swiped or the phone shaken whichever you find the easiest and your location is spoken. There is a second Map view, which follows your progress when on foot or on a bus and reads out the road names as you travel.