If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Having difficulties logging in or resetting your password?

Please email [email protected]

Pension credit and severe disability allowance.

LorelieLorelie Posts: 2Member Listener
Hi Simon.. I hope you're well. I'm new to Scope and have been trying to get used to finding my way around the community.
I've been told because I've no carer that I can put in for Severe Disability Allowance that would be added to my Pension Credit (I'm in receipt of government pension with PC. I'm 64) If I did get the SA allowance added, would it affect my housing benefit and council tax benefit? I will be getting pip (standard) and mobility at £22 at the end of September.

Replies

• LiamO_DellLiamO_Dell Posts: 1,114Member Pioneering
    Hi @Lorelie,

Welcome to Scope's online community! It's great to have you on board.

I've moved this post into our Ask a Benefits Advisor category, as I think they may be best placed to answer this for you.

@BenefitsTrainingCo, can you help?
    Liam
  • LorelieLorelie Posts: 2Member Listener
    Thank you @LiamO_Dell I appreciate that.
  • BenefitsTrainingCoBenefitsTrainingCo Posts: 2,687Member Pioneering
    edited August 2017
    Hi @Lorelie

To receive the Severe Disability Premium on your Pension Credit you [email protected]
    (1) and award of PIP Daily Living (which you have)
    (2) no carer (which you have)
    (3) no other adult in the house, unless they are also in receipt of PIP or DLA.

If you are entitled, then it won't cause other benefits to go down, and in in some cases and result in them increasing.

To get it added, call the Pensions Service on the number on your Pension Credit letter, or perhaps your local Age UK or council office can help you.

Hope this helps - do let us know if we can be of any further assistance!

Kind regards,

Mary
    The Benefits Training Co:
    Paul Bradley
    Michael Chambers