changing job role due to disability — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

changing job role due to disability

jacquifaviann
jacquifaviann Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi I'm new to all this, a bit nervous and very unsure of my future could anyone give me some advice. I'm 53 and had been trying to deny my disability (hypermobility disorder, patella misalignment and arthritis in multiple joints) up til recently when mobility problems got too bad to ignore.  I have just been awarded standard level PIP for both daily living and mobility needs.  I work 4 hours a night 4 times a week as a cook, I was given an adjustment passport allowing me concessions such as extra breaks but I'm still finding night work too difficult.  My department is now being taken over by another company so I have asked to move onto day shifts (I know for definite there will be vacancies available) 4 hours a day 2 days a week.  I am scared that the new company will decide not to employ me because of my limited ability to work or they will say that I must work a minimum amount which is more than I feel i can cope with.  If that is the case and I resign due to health issues would I be penalised claiming for benefits.  If the new company decide not to take me on what benefits might I be entitled to.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,333 Disability Gamechanger