Can I be reassessed for high rate mobility for my son — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Can I be reassessed for high rate mobility for my son

Options
karenwhas
karenwhas Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi I'm new to this today so hope I'm doing things correctly. My son is 11 years old and was diagnosed with Aspergers 7 year ago. He was awarded high rate care and low rate mobility back then and then again in March of this year. I was wondering however if i can be reassessed for the mobility component. As George is getting older its getting more and more difficult to get him out and about. He can't and doesnt go out alone as he is unaware of any dangers and just wouldn't know what to do or where to go. He has a lot of sensory issues so won't go on public transport, it's far too busy and noisy for him. His walking isn't great and can take a long while to get a short distance so it's just not something he wants to do. He gets picked up for school by a taxi which he is happy with. I would just like to be able to try and get him out and about more to try help him but as I don't have a car and have no way of getting one I wondered if I could ask for a reconsideration on his mobility award. Thank you

Comments

• Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Options
    Hi @karenwhas, welcome to the community!

I've moved your post into our 'Ask a benefits advisor' category to see if they can advise you on the best way to go about appealing your son's mobility award. Hopefully somebody will be in touch with you soon!