Rights as a volunteer — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Rights as a volunteer

mossycow
mossycow Scope Member Posts: 500 Pioneering
edited November 2017 in Work and employment
Hi there,
I posted here recently about DBS as it looked likely I was going to be volunteering in my dream job This happens to be the job I studied for for 5 years, worked in for 10 years so I feel (trying to pull together any dregs of self worth I have) I do have experience and value to give.

Anyway... I am angry and sad this morning. Its been 10 weeks since I was asked if I would come in to volunteer and basically I've heard nothing about criminal record check (I was supposed to get an email to fill in my stuff) and have begun to suspect that basically they can't put the time together to sort it out.... 

Had a text from the person I'd be working with saying it's probably best to "leave it for now as they're saying they can't get the access requirements".

What a load of ****. 

I require.. 
 (wait for it... It's quite the rider)  

The person I'm working with to open a different gate. The gate is 10 paces away from her desk. After this I require no help, no ramps, toilets are next door.....  nothing else. 

I'm not giving up. The admin who are supposed to be sorting it out have been hard to get hold of so have gone through a different route.

But... I really would appreciate it to get some concrete facts before I meet with them. 

As a paid employee what would be my rights if I was refused work on these grounds?