My son's health and benefits — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My son's health and benefits

Anonbon123
Anonbon123 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
My 25 yr old son has not worked for 3 years due to chronic pain syndrome, fibromyalgia, TMJ, headaches etc. He has been treated at hospital for 3 years and is on waiting list for inpatient pain management programme. He has never claimed benefits and although I am on pension credit I have been keeping him for 3 years. I need advice on what the process is to get started on benefits. What comes first, the GP signing him off, or him going to Universal Credit first (active in our area) and also what benefits would he be entitled to. He is in constant pain every day from morning to night and medication does not help with pain. He is worried that I will get in trouble if the DWP find out I have been keeping him for last 3 years as I a on guaranteed pension but I am running out of savings and can no longer afford to keep us both in food and clothing.Any advice would be gratefully received. Can I get into trouble by maintaining him with money and food etc?
Read more at https://community.scope.org.uk/discussion/38475/my-sons-health-problems-and-work#9oDzYF2cupI5lzm2.99

Comments

• iza
    iza Scope Member Posts: 703 Pioneering
    Hi @Anonbon123

I will request @BenefitsTrainingCo to help you here to answer your ?