If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Carer's Allowance

Chinqupark12Chinqupark12 Posts: 1Member Listener
edited February 2018 in Carer's allowance
My husband is 81 years of age, and I am 79. I have been caring for him since 1995, when he was medically found unfit to continue serving in the Merchant Marine. It is only in the last month that I have had news that there was such a thing as Carer's Allowance. I applied for that a the beginning of January last. The form at the time stated that it took six weeks to work its way through the system. Now the BBC are saying that it takes up yo a year. Would the purpose of the government be that there is a chance of him dying before help can be handed out?
I gave up work when this happened, in 1996.
Does anyone have any kind of suggestion as to where I go to next?

Replies

• Castleford1Castleford1 Posts: 61Member Courageous
    Hi
    You can't receive Carers Allowance if you are claiming State Retirement Pension as this is classed as an overlapping benefit.  I claimed Carers Alliwance for my disabled daughter for many years but this stopped when I was 60 and went onto State Pension.
  • angel55angel55 Posts: 1Member Listener
    Hi I am on esa I get £146 a fortnight but someone mentioned about is it a disability top up premium my doctor as just signed me off for another year  am 63 this year I had polio when i was a baby I have    osteoarthritis  too  I am on high mobility and low care  my rotary cuffs have worn on both shoulders i have regular cortisone injections  and have difficulties doing a lot of things now  ie opening cans washing my hair 
  • BenefitsTrainingCoBenefitsTrainingCo Posts: 2,677Member Pioneering
    Chinqupark12,

If you get state retirement pension then as Castleford1 advises, you probably can't get Carer's Allowance as well, unless your retirement pension is very low.