Getting turned down for work with a chronic back problem — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Getting turned down for work with a chronic back problem

Rayofhope
Rayofhope Community member Posts: 6 Listener
edited April 2018 in Work and employment
I've a chronic back problem and I have been trying to get an office job so that I can still feel like I have a life. I re-trained in IT, Maths and customer service but because I have no experience, I keep getting turned down for work. 
Anyone else in this boat? 

Comments

• JennysDad
    JennysDad Community member Posts: 2,299 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Rayofhope and a warm - if rather belated - welcome to the community. We are glad to have you, but seem to have been short of bodies to answer posts today. Really very sorry about that, and that you've been kept waiting.
    Heartfelt congratulations on your retraining - it cannot have been easy.
    There may well be others here in a similar situation to yourself but it might take a little while for your post to filter through to them, so please bear with us. In the meantime you might like to have a look at our 'Ask an Employment Advisor' thread. Have a look at the conversations and please, if you feel you can, join in.
    Must get this sent to you, so I will sign off, but please, please, please do not hesitate to be in touch to ask us any questions or to tell us anything more about yourself.
    Here and listening,
    Warmest best wishes,
    Richard
    PS You might also find some friends in the 'Dealing with chronic pain' thread. :)
  • Lasian_Alumni