pension credit — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

pension credit

lascar1
lascar1 Community member Posts: 12 Listener
i you get  full pip at the age of 52 and a  private pension can you still  claim for pension credit or do have to wait until your 67?

Comments

• Yadnad
    Yadnad Posts: 2,856 Disability Gamechanger
    Currently you or your partner has to be over 66 to claim.

• lascar1
    lascar1 Community member Posts: 12 Listener
    please explain to me how people over 50 are getting pension credit as i am new to all of this i just do not understand.
  • Yadnad
    lascar1 said:
    please explain to me how people over 50 are getting pension credit as i am new to all of this i just do not understand.

No idea to be honest. 
    The following link will explain the eligibility criteria

https://www.gov.uk/pension-credit/eligibility
  • Misscleo
    Misscleo Community member Posts: 647 Pioneering
    It seems none of us know much about pension credit.
    There must be people who could claim it but dont have any knowledge.
    I wonder if you can have saving or how much and still claim ???
  • Yadnad
    edited June 2018
    For a start the DWP are aware that over £2.8bn a year is not being claimed by people entitled to it. The government have no intention of making people aware that they could get an award - instead this money at the end of the year is given back to the Chancellor who might decide that it is time for all MP's to get a pay rise!!