If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Pain is making me afraid to stand up

SystemSystem Posts: 283 Scope community team
This discussion was created from comments split from: Hi, my name is peterharris120!.

Replies

• peterharris120peterharris120 Posts: 4Member Listener
    Hello Sam. I need help and I don't know who or where to ask. I'm 69 and have COPD and osteo-arthritis in my knees, hips and back. I've been using a wheeled frame to get around for many months now but in the last week pain has really 'closed in' on me. All movement now hurts. I've been given exercises to do but I've been too stupid and lazy to do them (this is longer story by the way). It's got to the stage where I'm afraid to even try to stand up. Like I said I don't know who or where to ask.
  • Sam_ScopeSam_Scope Posts: 6,638Administrator Scope community team
    Hi @peterharris120
    Im sorry to hear you are having such a tough time. Your GP is a good first point of call to talk through your symptoms and see if they can offer more support around pain.

Your GP may:

• carry out a physical examination
    • discuss your pain history
    • identify where the pain is coming from
    • record your level of pain
    • check for signs of any illness that could be causing your pain or making it worse
    • ask how your pain is affecting your life

There's lots of self-help advice available from a variety of organisations supporting people living with long-term pain, such as:

You say you havent managed to do the exercises given to you, do you have anyone who can support you with these? To remind and encourage you? I have physio exercises and I set an alarm on my phone to prompt me to do them, could that work for you?

There is more information about pain management on the NHS here.
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • peterharris120peterharris120 Posts: 4Member Listener
    Thank you Sam_Scope. Appreciated.