How can I improve my prospects? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

How can I improve my prospects?

Options
Zebra88
Zebra88 Community member Posts: 55 Courageous
edited October 2018 in Work and employment
Hi

Bit of background first but ultimately I am looking at how I can put my skills and knowledge to good use?

I have worked in various jobs and always found it easy to find employment in the advice sector. I worked for a local council, citizens advice and also DWP as well as private companies. I have a lot of knowledge and often help other people out with affairs as well as having a disability myself. I was recently working for DWP but commuting for well over 6hrs a day and with the recent train problems I just couldn't fulfil my hours and get home safely every day. I can't afford to work part time at the moment. As a reasonable adjustment (no access to work funding for department employees) they were willing to pay £800 per week for taxis. I also can't drive to my disability. Unfortunately this meant getting multiple quotes from local taxi firms and also paying for the taxis upfront while I waited for the fares to be reimbursed through expenses which would take minimum 5 working days and that's if my manager was in to approve them. First of all I was finding it impossible to find a wheelchair taxi driver to pick me up at 5am, sit in rush hour traffic for hours and come back and do the same later on. Or at least anyone who was willing to provide receipts. They kept looking at me suspiciously when i said i would need proof of payment lol. Not only that