Rent Enquiry — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Rent Enquiry

ThePeterHeap
ThePeterHeap Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi everyone,

I'm new to Scope and I'm wondering if anyone can help me please?

You see my mother's Universal Credit housing element has been reduced by £72.16 a month because I have turned 21 and I'm a 'non-dependant'.

This has caused my mother to accrue rent arrears, which wouldn't have occurred if they didn't drop the rent amount by the amount above.

I am claiming Universal Credit myself and my mother has been told that I can claim some housing element to make up the amount that's missing in the housing costs.

However as the housing association won't put my name on the tenancy agreement, Universal Credit are unable to pay out any money whatsoever for me unless my name is specifically put on a new tenancy agreement, which they should be drawing up as we are more than 12 months into the tenancy/property.

I'm unsure what to do now and my health is bad also. I suffer with severe depression and anxiety and even take medication too for it.

Kind regards,
Peter Heap

Comments

• medwaymum
    medwaymum Community member Posts: 9 Connected
    edited October 2018
    The housing landlord has to put your name on as I had to do this with my daughter who is 32 ,if you are told by your landlord that they wont I would seek advice from CAB who can advice you of your rights ,Hope it gets sorted.
  • ThePeterHeap
    ThePeterHeap Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    medwaymum said: