Social services experience — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Social services experience

angie610m
angie610m Community member Posts: 31 Courageous
Hi,  I have been having issues with social care.

I had to put a complaint in with the line manager, as my social worker has lied, been rude, made me cry and used my disability against me.

I am 35, with hypermobility Syndrome, fibromyalgia, pcos, asthma, depression.  I am an online student and have quite a good memory.  At times I forget where I have put my keys, but things said, and past I remember.

My social worker was supposed to have given me some telephone numbers for cleaners and things.  And done some other things I asked her to do.  I’ve left it a couple of weeks, tried to contact her numerous times and ignored.  When I phone the office, she rings me straight back (I imagine to stop her from getting in trouble for her lack of contact with me).  Then states she has given me said numbers or she says she don’t remember that conversation with me, when I do.  If she had given me the numbers they would have been written down.  However, twice now she has said, “well you have Fibro so that’s deterring your memory.” 

Nothing wrong with my memory.  I have had loads on, and appreciate she has too, and at times people may have got mixed up with who they spoke to, which could have happened here as she is insistent that she had told me and that the other things I’ve made up.