Other people's experiences of unsuccessful ESA claim? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Other people's experiences of unsuccessful ESA claim?

Debbiewalsh
Debbiewalsh Community member Posts: 2 Listener
looking for advice about recent ESA Claim being denied.  Last month I was awarded PIP after being 'in' DLA.... so how the DWP can now turn me down when I've been claiming this for so many years is beyond me ?
I have disabling chronic back pain and having to fight this once again  as I have been to tribunal twice in the past is beyond my capabilities... I simply feel I haven't the strength to keep having to fighting them for it... it drains me ?grateful to hear of other people's experiences please and any advice would be so very much appreciated! 

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Debbiewalsh

Good Afternoon it’s great to meet you today.

I’m very very sorry to hear about your current situation!!!!!

Both PIP & ESA are separate Benefits.

ESA: is a Benefit if you are “unable to work”

PIP: has two parts.

1. Daily Living Component, for people who need help in everyday life.

2. Mobility Component, for people who can’t get around.

I do hope that this is helpful?????
  • Pippa_Alumni
    Pippa_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 5,793 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Debbiewalsh, and a warm welcome to the community! 

So sorry to hear about your unsuccessful ESA claim, that must have been really disappointing to hear. Are you appealing the decision? If so, Scope's guidance on DWP appeals may help.