If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

I have made a huge mistake and i'm so scared

Butterflyhome77Butterflyhome77 Posts: 7Member Listener
I got a letter for a Review Appointment with DWP, I mistakenly thought that it was another medical which led to an acute mental break.  I rang the Citizens Advice and they explained that it's just routine and nothing to worry about, then they went through some checks with me to show me the kind of info they would require, they told me that I shouldn't have savings over £6000 and I realised that I have made a huge mistake! I didn't know that I had to tell them about savings, i've been on benefits for so long and i've never been asked for bank statements etc in the last 8 years.  I have saved £10,000 due to not being able to leave my house (mental illness).  I honestly didn't know, i've never done anything wrong before and now i'm so afraid that they are going to put me in jail.

I have an appointment with the Advocacy Service tomorrow but do I need a solicitor?  My mental health is so badly affected and i've had the Crisis Team and valium prescribed.

I am not coping and going through this alone is so scary.  Has anyone else every made a mistake like this?  I understand now that I owe them money and I will give them it all back but will they put me in jail?  Can anyone help me?

Replies

• poppy123456poppy123456 Posts: 4,782Member, Community champion Brian Blessed
    Hi,

You need to check if you're claiming Contributions based or Income Related ESA first. Contributions based ESA isn't means tested and won't be affected by any savings.

Did you move from Incapacity benefit to ESA?

Do you claim housing benefit and council tax reduction? The savings rule applies to those as well.
  • mikehughescqmikehughescq Posts: 2,896Member Brian Blessed