Living expenses omitted from LA financial assessments if adult continues to live in family home — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Living expenses omitted from LA financial assessments if adult continues to live in family home

gillycuddy
gillycuddy Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi All
I am new to the adult world as my daughter with cerebal palsy just turned 18.
She receives care and support through social services which she has had all her life - but now that she is 18 and has an income (via benefits) in her own right she can be charged. That is fair enough. What isn't fair in my view is that all her living expenses (including board/rent/social etc) are supposedly all wrapped up in the Minimum income guarantee, and therefore all her income outside of this can be legitimately sought by the local authority (aside from the Disability related expenses). There is no allowance for any rent or board she may be paying at home.
My point is - my husband and I have had to reduce our work commitments to cope with her continuing care and we were relying on the rent/board she was providing us while she is still at home - however I was told point blank by the LA that there was no allowance for this if the person lived at home - it was only if they were living separately and claiming housing benefit. This feels very much like discrimination to me - and further pushing the burden back on the parents. I would have thought it reasonable for any adult to expect to contribute for rent and board where ever they lived.