If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Work for son with Mental health issues

EnnazusEnnazus Posts: 7Member Listener
edited July 12 in Ask an employment adviser
Hi, my son is 17 (18 in November) and is recovering from a serious bout of mental illness. He wants to find a part time job to fill his time over the summer and fit around college in September. However because he's been so ill he's not got any other experience of work and struggles with confidence. Is there any service or scheme out there that could help him find suitable work? 

Replies

  • Adrian_ScopeAdrian_Scope Posts: 3,487Administrator Scope community team
    Hi @Ennazus and thanks for getting in touch.
    We have a number of employment services that might be of use to your son, including Support to Work. I'm going to tag @Isaac_Scope and @mwila_scope as they might be able to advise you about what's appropriate for you.

    Best wishes,
    Adrian
    Senior Online Community Officer
    Scope
  • pia_scopepia_scope Posts: 41Support to Work Courageous
    Hi @Ennazus

    Welcome to the community and thank you for the query.

    Due to your sons age I would not worry much about his lack of work experience.
    When it comes to finding a summer job it might be too late to apply now as most temp positions would be filled already but a part-time role or even volunteering is probably the best option for him.

    As I don't know your location I can't fully answer your question about employment support but most areas do have face to face services that you can find if you search the internet.

    At Scope we offer both face to face and digital (phone, Skype or email appointment) services.

    You can read more about them here;
    https://www.scope.org.uk/employment-services/




    I hope that he will find something suitable.


    Kind regards

    Pia




    Pia
    Scope Employment Advisor
    Phone: 0300 222 5742
    Email: [email protected]
    www.scope.org.uk/supporttowork

  • April2018momApril2018mom Posts: 2,084Member - under moderation Disability Gamechanger
    Hello

    Don’t worry about his lack of experience yet. He is still young. In terms of finding work, I recommend using the Internet. Have you contacted your local JC or not? Also look at your local paper too. Alternatively he could always be a freelancer or entrepreneur as well. Which area do you live in? Is there a local college near you or not?
    One other option is to see if he could do a course. What are his hobbies, skills and interests? Start by making a list of them and take it from there. Does he enjoy cooking? 
    Visit this link for more information 
    https://dyscalculia-blog.com/2019/03/13/jobs-and-job-hunting-tips-for-people-with-disabilities/

    Best of wishes! 
Sign in or join us to comment.