Husbands savings — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Husbands savings

Mika
Mika Community member Posts: 9 Connected
Hi everyone, I am a newbie who signed up to offer help and advice to others :) .However, I am having major worries and making myself  even more ill than normal. I claim PIP and ESA. My concern is I was left some money a last year of which I placed in an ISA. Is this classed as savings??? Also my husband who works, also has his own ISA, will his savings affect MY benefits. If so, I have absolutely no idea what to do. We have never had enough to live on and scrimp a lot, but with me not having a pension due I thought an ISA would be safe. Pleeeeeease help me so I can sleep at night. Many thanks for reading xx

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,934 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi,

Yes money in an ISA is classed as savings and will affect any means tested benefits you claim if you have more than £6,000 in total this will affect your means tested benefits £1 for every £250 over that amount. Savings of more than £16,000 then you won't be entitled to any means tested benefits.

PIP isn't means tested so that won't be affected. ESA can be means tested but it depends whether you're claiming Contributions based or Income Related. Contributions based isn't means tested but Income Related is.

As you're husbands works, then depending on how many hours per week he works then it's more than likely you're claiming Contributions based ESA. Your award letter will tell you which one you're claiming.