What are my rights? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

What are my rights?

Mpv1412
Mpv1412 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Good morning,

I'm a newbie and this is my first post so bear with me ?.

I'm 53 and a registered nurse currently working for the private sector where I have been massively under-supported with my change in health needs. However I have a conditional offer of employment to return to work in the NHS.  The post I applied for is a generic adult nurse post so not a specific job as yet.

Apparently I have eligibility under the Disability Act on three separate counts according to an Occupational Health Assessment carried out previously; I have had bilateral hip replacements, severe osteoarthritis requiring me to take slow & fast acting Morphine and needing a total L knee replacement in the near future & more recently have had a pacemaker fitted, have a device inserted into my heart to block a 3cm hole which was discovered & I also have a dilated right heart & I keep having episodes or atrial fibrillation despite medication.

As part of pre-employment checks I had to complete a Health Assessment Questionnaire & I included all the above & also had to declare how much sickness I'd had in the last 2 years.  This has totalled 8 months in two episodes with my cardiac issues, but nonetheless I fear everything looks stacked against me.