Will he be entitled to any benefits? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Will he be entitled to any benefits?

popinjay
popinjay Community member Posts: 4 Listener
Hi I am new to this my Husband is just starting the process of becoming retired from the NHS due to disability he is only 60 and if he is retired on health grounds he will not be able to work will he be entitled to claim any benefits 

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @popinjay

Good Afternoon & Welcome???

I am one of the Community Champion’s here at Scope.

I also had to take Early Retirement from the NHS due on Health Grounds few years ago now.

I am very happy in helping you with things????

I was in my early 50’s at the time.

@steve51
  • popinjay
    Hi Steve
    Thank you
    My husband is having his 2nd appointment this week to discuss his feedback from OH face 2 face. Who have agreed he cannot go back to his substasive role, He is taking his union with him and his GP is fully supporting him in this but may need advice once NHS, HR start to make demands or put a spanner in the works.
    Seems 30+ years counts for nothing I think. Seems you can't say early retirement once you're 60
  • Joanne_Alumni
    Joanne_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 188 Pioneering
    Hi @popinjay,

Welcome to the Online Community!

Has your husband made a claim for Personal Independence Payment? This is not means tested and he could get that in addition to any pension he may be entitled to.
    Joanne 
    Scope
  • popinjay
    Thank you