Is Self-Employment the Answer? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Is Self-Employment the Answer?

ElizabethLWright
ElizabethLWright Community member Posts: 4 Connected

My name is Elizabeth. I’m a 40-year-old, limb different Aussie living in the North of England. I’m a Paralympic medalist from years ago, and now I speak for a living as well as write about my lived experiences of disability.

The beginning of my employment journey

I have been fighting for inclusion my whole life, even with the Australian disability anti-discrimination laws that came into play in 1992. This struggle for inclusion has led me on a journey to self-employment, here is my story…

Liz looking into the distance while giving a talk

“You’re qualified for this job, but I don’t think you will physically manage this type of work, there’s no point in continuing on with the interview.”

The man stood from behind his desk and gestured towards the door. I sat there gobsmacked. It was the first job interview that I had attended on my own, and I felt my excitement wane into disbelief.

The job was for a marketing role in a house cladding company. I was in the midst of a marketing course at a further education institution; and whilst this cladding company wasn’t my dream job, I certainly recognised it for the potential stepping stone it could be. Yet I’d just, metaphorically, had the door slammed in my face because of my disability.

I was 19 years old when this happened. I lacked the confidence to stand up to this man and tell him that he was discriminating against me.

Academia