If this is your first visit, check out the community guide. You will have to Join us or Sign in before you can post.

Having difficulties logging in or resetting your password?

Please email [email protected]

Terrible back pain

PhilupnorthPhilupnorth Posts: 2Member Listener
edited January 16 in Dealing with chronic pain

Hi everyone, I’m after some advice on what I can do as I’m at my wits end as I am suffering excruciating back pain when I’m at work.  I have had two MRI scans 20 months apart which confirm I have a slipped disc & the latest scan said there had been no change but recently my pain has become unbelievable. I work in a warehouse & the constant bending now causes so much pain & I don’t know how much more I can take

I am on a stage one on a capability procedure at work & I’m really worried what will happen if I go sick. What I can’t understand is in the morning I feel fine but as soon as I start bending repeatedly it literally feels like I have been stabbed in the bottom of my spine & the knife is being twisted. I am now part time & work 2 days a week & I had to cut my hours due to other health problems. I need a job but with my health as it is at the moment I would be unemployable if I had to find a new job as no one would take me on.

I having recently started physio but the exercises made the pain worse & I didn’t think that was possible.  When I told him he said the exercises he had given me were the simplest & gave me the impression he wasn’t interested in me. He suggested that when I see my doctor next to talk about getting stronger pain killers but I am already on 150mg Tramadol.  What I was hoping he would do would be to recommend I was to be referred to a pain clinic as my doctor has said she wanted to see what physio said first.