Need some advice with ongoing injury — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Need some advice with ongoing injury

Simon078
Simon078 Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi to the group,
I am a hgv driver and I fractured my L1 last july. over the last 8 months I am in constant pain with my hip
I have continued working trying to carry on but the pain is just to much
None on the medication work and currently on 1800mg gabapentin. The side affects means I cannot drive at all and make me spaced out.
I also need to be near a toilet due to more side affects I have a spinal surgeon appointment in July and the doctor has signed me off. They are talking about chronic pain syndrome 
My partner and I rent a house and she earns 26k but we are now both really struggling with the bills and rent 
I cant meet my debt and because of where I live the nearest village is 2 miles away with no bus route so i am a bit trapped.
Can I claim esa ? Neither of us claim anything. 3 weeks I laid off due to sickness leave
I cannot escape the pain no matter what I do so they are now looking to increase it again.

Many thanks

s.

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,345 Disability Gamechanger
    HI and welcome,

Unless your self employed you need to look at claiming SSP from your employer, this is payable for 28 week. https://www.gov.uk/statutory-sick-pay