Unsure about assessment result! — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Unsure about assessment result!

scape1960
scape1960 Community member Posts: 75 Connected
Hi, this is my first time on here and would be grateful for advice. I applied for ESA more than 4 month ago, had my assessment and have been receiving £73.10 a week since then. I have had a letter asking to confirm my works pension to make sure I am receiving correct amount. Does this mean I have been awarded ESA even though I have not received the result of my assessment or been told I been awarded ESA? I wonder if this has happened to anyone else and what it means. Also, if I do receive an award and it is for the higher amount, will I get back payment from when I should have started receiving it? TIA.

Comments

• Abdi_Scope
    Abdi_Scope Scope Membership Team Posts: 265 Pioneering
  • chiarieds
    chiarieds Community member Posts: 16,007 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @scape1960 - Welcome to the community. The amount you have been receiving is the rate that you get for 13 weeks whilst a decision is being made. If you are placed in the support group there's no backpayment as far as an increased amount goes. See the following for confirmation: https://www.gov.uk/employment-support-allowance/what-youll-get
    I would have thought you would get a decision letter about your ESA, like you do with other benefits, from the DWP saying which group you may be placed in.

• scape1960