HOW DISABLED PEOPLE ARE BEING MANIPULATED ONTO UNIVERSAL CREDIT — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

HOW DISABLED PEOPLE ARE BEING MANIPULATED ONTO UNIVERSAL CREDIT

Options
cpm121
cpm121 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this service and I am angry at my treatment at the hands of HMRC and wanted to vent my anger and keep the rest of you informed so you are careful not to make the error that I did. To explain, I was on Working Tax Credit (WTC). Happy to be on it and no complaints. During the Furlough period, at the beginning actually, we were told that a claim could be made for lost monies (details not really relevant) Did not meet the conditions and the website suggested other means of obtaining support. It led me to other places, I put my information in and suddenly I'm being transferred to Universal Credit (UC). I am suddenly getting a lot less than on WTC. Why? Because WTC gives a disability element while UC does not give it. One has to literally dying or totally bed ridden to get the disability element in UC. Also, there is no furlough based benefit on UC.