Has anyone else experienced others getting irritated when you say you want to be happy at your job? — Scope | Disability forum
If we become concerned about you or anyone else while using one of our services, we will act in line with our safeguarding policy and procedures. This may involve sharing this information with relevant authorities to ensure we comply with our policies and legal obligations.

Find out how to let us know if you're concerned about another member's safety.
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Has anyone else experienced others getting irritated when you say you want to be happy at your job?

SallyH
SallyH Community member Posts: 31 Courageous
I have been a job seeker for a while. Even though I'm employed I've been looking for a good job since I graduated in 2017 with little success due to ADHD (which I recently started getting medicated for) and severe Depression and Anxiety. 

Recently I've been working with Pathways and Support to work to help get me into a much better job and situation (They have been absolutely amazing), and today I spoke with my Pathways advisor about really wanting to feel happy at work. He echoed my beliefs that people should work where they're happy, which felt extremely affirming and assuring. 

However I've come across so many people, including my own parents, who become extremely irritated that I'm being 'Picky' with what sort of work I want to do and apply for. 

Has anyone else come across this at all? Why does wanting to do a job you're happy with seem so 'controversial'? 

I'd love for any insight on this!   

A little background: