its not fair — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

its not fair

cliffb1947
cliffb1947 Community member Posts: 3 Listener

HI.A FEW WEEKS  I WROTE ABOUT MYSELF APPLYING FOR  P.I P AND THEY TOOK MY DETAILS OVER THE PHONE .I RANG D.W.P. AND THEY SAID I WAS NOT ENTITLED TO IT THATS WHY THEY NEVER SENT ME THE FORMS OUT THIS WAS 6 WEEKS AFTER ME APPLYING THEY DID NOT CONTACT ME OR ANYTHING THEY KEPT ME ON A SHOE STRING WAITING AS I WAS HAVING TREAMENT FOR CANCER AT THE TIME NO LETTERS OR ANYTHING THEY HAVE SAID SORRY I SHOULD HAVE BEEN TOLD WHEN I APPLIED BUT THIS WAS NOT SO I WAS BORN IN 1947 A YEAR TO EARLY SO I HAVE TO STAY ON D.L.A.WHITCH IS A CARER GETS MORE THAN I DO BECAUSE OF MY AGE PEOPLE LIKE ME ARE MISSING OUT ON HIGHER BENEFITS  SO IM NOT A HAPPY CHAPPIE AND ITS NOT FAIR THE BENEFITS WANTS LOOKING AT THIS AGAIN .

Comments

• loopyt
    loopyt Community member Posts: 79 Courageous
    Hi Cliff, I am no expert but I think that as you were born in 1947, making you 70, it means you should be claiming attendance allowance? It may be worth calling the DWP and asking to put in a claim and they hopefully will give you the correct advice. Very good luck
  • Nystagmite
    Nystagmite Community member Posts: 596 Pioneering
    loopyt said:
    Hi Cliff, I am no expert but I think that as you were born in 1947, making you 70, it means you should be claiming attendance allowance? It may be worth calling the DWP and asking to put in a claim and they hopefully will give you the correct advice. Very good luck
    Attendance allowance doesn't have a mobility component to it. It only has the 2 care parts, which are the same amount as PIP.
  • loopyt
    loopyt Community member Posts: 79 Courageous
    Oh, that's a shame, thought the older you got the less complicated it was. Sorry
  • cliffb1947
    cliffb1947 Community member Posts: 3 Listener
  • Debbie_Alumni