How do you 'prove' you can't walk more than 20 meteres? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

How do you 'prove' you can't walk more than 20 meteres?

mel60
mel60 Community member Posts: 7 Listener
Hi

I've recently been refused any kind of mobility allowance help as I can't prove that I can't walk more than 20 metres.

I've suffered quite badly with fibromyalgia for around 10 years now to the extent that I was retired from my job of 25yrs. I was a data officer for my local authority.

I've been claiming PiPs since not long after I retired and was originally refused mobility component 4 yrs ago but got the living allowance. As my mobility wasn't so bad back then, I just let it go. However, since then my mobility has become much worse and I suffer foot, ankle, calf,  knee, pins and needles in my thighs and numbness,hip and back pain even walking more than about 10 metres  but I can't prove this to the dwp. At my last medical assessment the nurse calculated I could walk more than 20 but less than 200 metres just by seeing me walk the few metres (prob less than 5) to the room where the assessment took place. DWP are saying that my condition has not increased/changed since my original claim. I rarely go to my doctors as I know there is little to nothing they can do for me. How would my doctor even be able to judge how far I could walk? It's easy to prove you can do something but not so easy to prove you cant. I desparately need financial support to get/run a car as I'm not working now. My nearest bus stops are around 400 metres away and uphill.

I would appreciate any help/advice you can give me in this matter as soon as possible as I'm fairly sure once it's all been decided that's it until the next review which will be in just over 2 yrs as I completed my last review in December 2016 and just had my appeal yesterday 29th Sept).