GP Referral Anxiety — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

GP Referral Anxiety

Giselle
Giselle Community member Posts: 3 Listener
edited September 2017 in Autism and neurodiversity
Hi Violet,
I don't really know where to start because I'm new to all this, but here goes. I've suspected I may be on the autistic spectrum for some time. Having recently completed 3 different online autism tests, all 3 came back with the possibility of me being borderline/high functioning Asperger's, (1 said with overlaps of minor/borderline ADHD). I now think I should go to my GP for a referral, but I dread and feel anxious about talking about my experiences through my life, as sometimes going into depth about emotional issues can make me feel very stressed and exhausted. Do you have any tips on how to make a visit to the GP easier for me? Thank you - Giselle.

Comments

• steve51
    steve51 Community member Posts: 7,153 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @Giselle

Welcome to our website and online community ???

Having read your post I would be very happy to see you if I was a GP.

You have done a lot off the hard work.

I have been in your shoes many a time over the past few years.

On presenting my info at my appointments and having reading it over & over beforehand.

I was able to discuss things on there level giving me the confidence in knowing "what I had & what I needed"

So I whould say that you are best placed in getting things sorted so you should "grab the bull by the horns" & go for it.
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    edited January 2018
    Hi @Giselle

Do you have anyone you trust who could go to the GP with you?  Perhaps writing down some notes of how you feel would help, you can also often request a double appointment with a GP so you arent rushing.

As hard as it is to make that first step, it is a positive one.