My son's health problems and work — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

My son's health problems and work

Anonbon123
Anonbon123 Community member Posts: 8 Listener
My 25 yr old son has not worked for 3 years due to chronic pain syndrome, fibromyalgia, TMJ, headaches etc. He has been treated at hospital for 3 years and is on waiting list for inpatient pain management programme. He has never claimed benefits and although I am on pension credit I have been keeping him for 3 years. I need advice on what the process is to get started on benefits. What comes first, the GP signing him off, or him going to Universal Credit first (active in our area) and also what benefits would he be entitled to. He is in constant pain every day from morning to night and medication does not help with pain. He is worried that I will get in trouble if the DWP find out I have been keeping him for last 3 years as I a on guaranteed pension but I am running out of savings and can no longer afford to keep us both in food and clothing. Advice would be gratefully received

Comments

• CockneyRebel
    CockneyRebel Community member Posts: 5,209 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @Anonbon123 and welcome

First thing is to put details into the online benefit calculator
    Your son might qualify for PIP. Try the B&W self test to see

http://www.mybenefitsandwork.co.uk/pip/indexxx.php

There is lots of info on this site about benefits so please have a look round
    Please do come back with any questions

CR

Be all you can be, make  every day count. Namaste
  • Anonbon123