BLUE BADGES ANOTHER TRIAL AND ORDEAL — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

BLUE BADGES ANOTHER TRIAL AND ORDEAL

thespiceman
thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger
Hello just received after a week waiting my application for a blue badge came through the door.  I asked about going on line very uneasy about this. Say it is easy but found out need digital photograph plus I am not good with these things on line.  Anyway got form a six page one of every probing sort of inquest in my disability and lots of point of rules to prevent fraud.  Am I naïve is it possible now why just invite the applicant in when due date. All applicants to show medical evidence plus any supporting evidence.  I know it is a lot like the assessments we all go through but it is another level of form filling that shows the amount of time wasted on bureaucratic time and energy.  How many times do we have to prove ourselves.
Community Champion
SCOPE Volunteer Award Engaging Communities 2019
Mental Health advice, guidance and information to all members
Nutrition, Diet, Wellbeing, Addiction.
Recipes

Comments

• JPHouslay
    JPHouslay Community member Posts: 1 Listener
    Agree totally and now councils are only giving them to higher rate PIP awardees.
     I can only go out rarely because I can no longer get a blue badge.
  • Markmywords
    Markmywords Community member Posts: 419 Pioneering
    Each Council has its own policy on those discretionary decisions where the enhanced rate does not apply.

To be fair, the level of fraud by non-disabled people has been very large in the past. Cars have been broken into just for the badge too.

The councils are trying to operate their system as cheaply as possible so having a few people checking online forms is how it's going to be.

Thankfully, my county has been very fair and co-operative.
  • thespiceman