Teaching lipreading - my story so far — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Teaching lipreading - my story so far

glomac1
glomac1 Community member Posts: 4 Listener

My name is Gloria, I have had a profound hearing loss since the 1980’s when I was a classroom teacher. My hearing loss had a great impact on both my career and my home life.  Following early retirement, due to my hearing loss, I tried many different jobs but eventually returned to teaching. After retirement, I learned to lipread which was the best thing I could have done. In 2006 I began to teach lipreading, retiring aged 65 in 2009. However, I continue to run two lipreading support groups and to develop my website for those wishing to practise lipreading.

I have read with interest other blogs about invisible impairments and I agree it is difficult to live with them in the “normal” world. The sense of isolation is sometimes very great. I found my hearing loss made it difficult for me to do my job as a headteacher, but I found coping with life after retirement more challenging. I think we all need to feel useful and I lost that when I retired. It was hard to have so much time on my hands. I found it very difficult to manage my hearing loss in my world. My husband is a businessman and we entertained people both at home and in restaurants etc. It was hard as I could hear very little of what was being said. Home was easier because I could be busy!