Chronic migraine — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Chronic migraine

sunflower
sunflower Community member Posts: 33 Courageous
Hi I've read some of the messages regarding chronic migraine. I'm struggling. I'm a primary school teacher. Had 6 months off already. Now on half pay. Single mum to 2 children under 16. No likelihood of a return to work so talk of possible early retirement but that is impossible to get on ill health grounds as a teacher. I struggle everyday. The gp can see it. I'm going back to see the neurologist, as the combination of topirimate and rizatriptan is not really having much impact. I can't see a way out of this, my migraines roll into one and and soon as I come up for air I get a day of respite then they come again. Does anyone else have a life like this?  My poor kids have lost their mum. As for my finances, I am truly worried. How can I think straight when I am in pain most of the time?  
Any advice would be gratefully received.  I have contacted the bank, am going to CAB and my teaching union are involved.

Comments

• Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    Hi @sunflower
    Welcome to the community, they discussed migraines on This Morning recently and they have put together a list of helplines and websites for chronic migraines that might help.

It sounds like a really tough time for you, it is good to hear that your GP is taking it seriously and I hope your neurologist can offer more support.

Well done on getting in touch with CAB and your union, I hope they can offer you help.
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • sandyp196
    sandyp196 Community member Posts: 142 Pioneering