Failing Universal Credit WCA — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Failing Universal Credit WCA

Tykelass54
Tykelass54 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
edited May 2018 in Universal Credit (UC)
Hi,  Just found you online - hope someone can give me some advice or help as I eventually (after many weeks of sending fit notes in) had my WCA after having to claim Universal Credit when we moved area and, surprise, surprise - I failed!  I had been receiving ESA at my previous address for 6 years or so after having 7 foot operations due to bad arthritis in them.  Subsequently, due to my walking gait being different, the arthritis in my right knee worsened and slowly many other joints in my body are now very painful.  Mainly my shoulders and neck which makes sleeping difficult.  I feel the assessor at my WCA, nice though she was,  skipped over a few points and seemed to totally ignore the extent of how the pain in my feet affects my daily life - I cannot take any opiate based drugs as they make me so ill, so I am left with just paracetamol, which does not touch the pain at all. I have had a few nights recently where my shoulder pain has left me like a zombie in the mornings. I have made an appointment with my gp, but I expect the same response from her because of my sensitivity to opiate based drugs.  I'm yet to see the Decision Makers forms and what points, if any, they gave me as when I received it it was completely blank! I informed them of this through my journal and was told that she was away till this week and a message was left for her to send me it again.  I know I wouldn't be able to hold down a job... shouldn't my own gp's assessment be taken into account over a flamin' Decision Makers?  This Universal Credit is a complete joke!  Many Thanks in Advance,

Comments

• thespiceman
    thespiceman Community member Posts: 6,388 Disability Gamechanger