Hot when it's cold — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Hot when it's cold

Bindy
Bindy Community member Posts: 7 Connected
Hi it's my first time on any forum so here goes I suffer from over heating it's crazy everyone around me has jumpers on and I'm in a vest top sweating it's terribly embarrassing having to havin to carry a face cloth around wherever I go is this the fibromyalgia ? And I am after a year and a half still waiting for my doctor to confirm that it is fibromyalgia that I have got ?

Comments

• susan48
    susan48 Community member Posts: 2,221 Disability Gamechanger
    @Bindy, I’m the same, worse at night though.

I don’t have fibromyalgia I think it might be menopausal with me, or my medication ?

I bought a cool gel pillow, doesn’t seem to help and have a towel next to my bed but nothing seems to help.
  • Bindy
    Hi Susan48 I have been going through the menopause but I'm also on H R T have been for a few years now and it only been in the last six months or so that this over heating has been a problem it could be my meds as I am taking a lot of different ones I may see my gp for a review of my meds thanks for the idea I hope you find a way to make it easier for you I spend my life with the fan on and half dressed lol
  • fishingmum
    fishingmum Community member Posts: 562 Pioneering
    @Bindy the menopause can cause severe over heating, I knew one lady who frequently sat with her freezer door open, my mum in the middle of winter would sit on the back door step, I would speak to your doctor. My friend who has fibromyalgia has severe pain and I have never heard her complain about over heating except when pain levels are very high, so get back to the doctor and see if any of the medication could be causing the symptoms, but it is more than likely the menopause if you are currently going through that.
    I recommend a visit to the artic lol