Starting puberty — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Starting puberty

dylski
dylski Community member Posts: 6 Listener
I have a ten and a half year old daughter who it looks like is just about to start puberty. My daughter has the mental age to a 12 to 18 baby and I was just looking for advice on what different ways I can ease her through puberty with the least pain and discomfort . Any adivice including medical would be greatfully recieved 

Comments

• monie215
    monie215 Community member Posts: 4 Listener
    I have no personal experience of this myself but my friend has a daughter who's the same mental age but a grown woman due to Meningitis at 2 yrs old. I once asked her how she got through these difficulties, and let's be honest , it is difficult, and she spoke to her Dr about it, the Dr put her on a medication, I suppose the pill/injections that stopped her having periods all together which may be an option for you. Not knowing your Daughter nor the circumstances, it's something perhaps best discussed with your GP. 
    Hope she gets the help she needs and you ,the support bless you xx
  • Sam_Alumni
    Sam_Alumni Scope alumni Posts: 7,671 Disability Gamechanger
    @PSHEexpert do you have any thoughts? 
    Scope
    Senior online community officer
  • dylski
    dylski Community member Posts: 6 Listener
    As a widowed  father to a ten year old daughter who has a condition called agenasis of the corpus callosum I am looking at getting as much knowledge on what options are available to my daughter who I think is just starting her early steps into puberty as her breasts seem to be beginning to develop. My daughter has the mental age to a 12 to 18 month and her late mother used to suffer from heavy periods so I am looking to increase my knowledge of what options are available so that when I go to see her neurologist I have at least a working idea of what is available. 
  • PSHEexpert