I Realised I Was Bullied After It Was Over! — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

I Realised I Was Bullied After It Was Over!

MeandCP
MeandCP Community member Posts: 5 Connected

My name is Chris, I’m 30 and based in the West Midlands. I’m currently studying to become a counsellor. I also sing in 2 choirs, follow several sports and love writing and reading history. I am interested in disability, mental health and identity – my blog can be found at www.memyselfanddisability.wordpress.com, I can also be found on twitter  -anything else just ask!

It was December 2006, I was sat in a pub with some schoolfriends catching up from our first completed terms at universities all over the UK. Suddenly, one friend turned to me, and as if seeing me for the first time said quietly “Chris, you put up with a lot of stuff in school!”

It was a genuinely arresting moment, this was not only something that he was just waking up to, but something that I was also just starting to realise. I didn’t realise that I was bullied in high school until I left, because it was so normal that I didn’t notice. I knew that having my wheelchair moved when I left it somewhere, constant verbal barbs about my physio, my walk, and mocking my supposed lack of masculinity were awful experiences. Feeling excluded from even the concept of dating and having my sexuality as a disabled person mocked left me with many mental scars, some of which I’ve only recently started to look at. But what I didn’t know was that it was bullying.

man with beard brown hair and glasses wearing a purple jumper sat on a bus