Upper back/neck pain advice — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Upper back/neck pain advice

elle31
elle31 Community member Posts: 1 Listener
I'm not sure if this is the right group or if this even counts as chronic pain but basically I have had pain in my upper back/neck to the right of my spine for as long as I can remember, it isn't constantly painful, but I do have to avoid doing certain things or walking for an extended amount of time. I'm a full time student and the parking is very limited and expensive so I have to park far away which combined with carrying my laptop and heavy textbooks it puts me in a great deal of pain. 

My first question is is this chronic pain? I'm not sure if it counts as chronic because it isn't all the time, when I'm not at uni I maybe have bad pain every other day for no more than an hour, and during the semester it is pretty much everyday for several hours, but not the whole day. I had physiotherapy briefly when I was about 12/13 (currently 19), the physiotherapist said it was caused by overdeveloped shoulder muscles, and as far as I'm aware that's the only cause for the pain, so no injury/disease/etc. 

Also, am I entitled to anything? I'm kind of struggling financially because my university doesn't provide travel allowance based on distance and my bursary is barely enough to cover petrol and isn't enough for a bus pass either. So if I am entitled to anything who do I go to? I have been to my GP before but nothing was mentioned, however I was under 16 so should I go again? Or should I go to my university directly or is it a council sort of thing?