Baby adaptations — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Baby adaptations

minniemouse
minniemouse Community member Posts: 3 Listener
Hi I am 21 weeks pregnant and a wheelchair user, I really need some help with adaptations around my house and for my power chair like prams, baths changing areas cost etc. This is my first time being disabled and I don't know where to start from so as you can imagine I'm freaking out. I don't seem to be getting any help from my midwife etc so please please please help me ????

Comments

• EmmaB
    EmmaB Community member Posts: 263 Pioneering
    Hi @minniemouse
    Congratulations!  
    First try not to panic!  
    I guess the first thing to do is to write a list of the things you think you need but also bear in mind that you don't HAVE to have everything that non disabled people have - what I mean by that is that there are many different ways of being a great parent some equipment simply doesn't suit disabled parents!
    I'm short statured and a mobility scooter user, the key things I needed was a cot where the side dropped down so I didn't have to reach in to reach my baby, that cot also doubled up as a changing station as I would just put the changing mat in it when needed.
    One thing I never got to grips with was bathing my babies [I had 2, they are 12 and 14 now!].  We did have a bath support but I left bathing to my husband in the main as I found the lifting them in and out too difficult really.  
    I guess the key thing is how you will transport them around the house [I used a very lightweight, small pushchair] and how you will get them out and about.  Maybe you'll cope with a baby carrier strapped to you?
    If you have a car would you find it easier to have the car seat permanently in the car as I did?  [As carrying one to and from the car even empty would have been tricky for me!]