esa problem — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

esa problem

wendiii
wendiii Community member Posts: 6 Listener
Hi im new to this but i have a question id like to ask...2 years ago i started to claim esa i was put into the work group which i appealed and heard nothing after 5 months I contacted esa and a small  form was sent out which i filled out I was told i wouldnt need another medical, I waited another 4 months and still heard nothing by this time my anxiety was really bad I was also my mothers carer, But i due to my anxiety and depression I wasnt much use to my mum My sister said now she had retired she could take over carers So i canceled my carers and informed esa about my decision, I used to get £64 carers allowance and £41 esa paid fortnightly £82 the carers was paid weekly... On monday the 25th march i received my last payment of carers and on tuesday the 26th march i received 2 weeks esa £82 The following week i had nothing, other than one week of my esa at £41 They didnt start making up the difference with my carers untill tues 16th april which i received £211 for 2 weeks.. I rang esa and was on the phone over an hour trying to explain that the week when i last got my esa i was only paid £82 for 2 weeks but one of those weeks i didnt get my carers because i canceled, So id lived off £41 (half of my £82 esa) and got in dept with rent and council tax ect Ive never had any extras or over payment so why for the first week in april have i been expected to live off £41..The lady i spoke to wouldnt budge on their decision and said it was esa paid in front or something like that, I told her that hardly helps me ..Does anyone know if she told me right? Am i supposed to manage with one weeks esa with carers deducted although that week i didnt get carers? Thankyou..

Comments

• poppy123456
    poppy123456 Community member Posts: 53,348 Disability Gamechanger
    edited April 2019
    Hi,