Dyslexia Technology app research — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Dyslexia Technology app research

thislittlebluebird
thislittlebluebird Community member Posts: 1 Listener
edited December 2018 in Research and opportunities
Hi!
I'm a final year college student and am working on an app for dyslexic users. I would be very grateful if any dyslexics would take a moment to answer a few questions, so I can make the app better :)

Thanks so much!

1. What are the main symptoms of your dyslexia and how does it present? (Trouble with reading, spelling, writing, grammar or other specific tasks?

2. How does being dyslexic effect your everyday life and learning? Has your dyslexia ever impacted your studies or learning?

3. What age were you diagnosed with dyslexia and what kind of support (if any) were you offered?

4. Do you have any prior experience with using dyslexia assistive technology? If so, what type of technology? (coloured overlays for papers, highlighters, spell checkers, text readers, apps or add-ons that change font/page contrast, smartpens etc.)

5. Which of the products you used did you find helpful and unhelpful and why?

6. Do you feel a need for better assistive technology to help with dyslexia?

Comments

• Gem12
    Gem12 Community member Posts: 5 Listener
    Hi do you still need answers?? 
  • dolfrog
    dolfrog Community member Posts: 441 Pioneering
    The real problem is first to identify the underlying cognitive cause of your dyslexia symptom.
    There are three cognitive subtypes of developmental dyslexia - auditory, visual, and attentional, so it depends on which of these types of clinical disorder is the underlying cause of your dyslexic symptom.
    Each of the different causes of the dyslexia symptom have different sets of other symptoms, and more importantly require different alternative compensating skills and abilities to work arohnd the different types of limitations