How could I improve the life of a child with disabilities? — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

How could I improve the life of a child with disabilities?

jagobanham
jagobanham Community member Posts: 2 Listener
edited September 2019 in Research and opportunities
Hi members of Scope!

I am an A Level DT student and I am doing a project where I make a product that can potentially improve the life a child who has a disability. So I was wondering if anyone had any ideas about potential problems that a child that has a disability or uses a wheelchair faces that could be solved with me making a product. 

Thanks 

Jago

Comments

• April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,882 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @jagobanham

My son is a full time wheelchair user. This is a nice idea! What product do you have in mind? Personally I would not mind a cleaning product as my son’s wheelchair seems to be dirty no matter how often I try wiping it down at the end of each day with a clean cloth and disinfectant too. Why don’t you design a survey asking about common problems often faced by those with disabilities? That way you can use the responses to help you design a product that would meet needs. 
  • jagobanham
    jagobanham Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Hello @April2018mom

I am ideally designing products for children aged 1-2 years old that have disabilities or use wheelchairs, I have come up with an idea such as some headphones that could be mounted to the wheelchair. Or maybe a metal ramp that can swivel around and be used. So I was wondering if anyone has any ideas about products that I could make to make a child with a disability easier?
  • April2018mom
    April2018mom Posts: 2,882 Disability Gamechanger
    Hello @April2018mom