Difficulties with food preparation and eating — Scope | Disability forum
Please read our updated community house rules and community guidelines.

Difficulties with food preparation and eating

HarryVS
HarryVS Community member Posts: 2 Listener
Hi,

My name is Harry, I am currently in my final year studying Product Design at DeMontford University in Leicester. For my final project I have been researching the challenges and difficulties with preparing and eating food faced by people with disabilities .

If you can spare a few minutes to answer some questions to give me a better understanding of your experiences, I would really appreciate it.

If you feel comfortable, please provide your age, description of disability and how severely this effects you on a day to day basis.

Questions:

• Can  you  tell  me  any  issues  you  regularly  face  during  food  preparation?

• How  do  you  overcome  these  issues  at  the  moment?

• Give  one  (or more)  examples  of  an  issue   that  if  solved  would  be  helpful  regarding  food  preparation    and   eating?

• Would you be more likely want to cook if the challenges you faced were overcome via product/solution and your reasons why?  

Thank you for taking your time to read this, I look forward to your responses and trying to make a difference.  

Kind regards,
Harry

Comments

• Dotty123
    Dotty123 Community member Posts: 492 Pioneering
    I have Grt problems I have use of thumb and next finger rest bent over and can’t use ,I can’t hold pan or open can I can’t use knife fork bathe there isn’t much you can heat or cook with no use of hands .eating in cafe there’s no special utensils I get son cut up sandwich into tiny pieces hope don’t drop them my cup is stuck to table I use straw I can’t peel anything lift pan hold kettle 
  • HarryVS
    HarryVS Community member Posts: 2 Listener
    Thank you for response @Dotty123 I really appreciate your time.
  • Dotty123
    Dotty123 Community member Posts: 492 Pioneering